It is currently Fri Aug 29, 2014 3:16 pm

All times are UTC - 4 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: Why Fun Gus sucks
PostPosted: Thu Nov 05, 2009 12:07 pm 
Draught Guru
Draught Guru

It was the early nineties. Everything in my life was going well. I had a good job @ a private school in Atlanta, I was a working musician, I was young, single and handsome.

And then I met.....Her.

I was playing drums in a small bookstore in Little Five Points when she walked in the door. Oh My God. Every head turned to look at her. She was a majestic thing of beauty. Very,very sexy. And, she was in a 'bookstore'!

I noticed her slyly checking me out during the set, so I got her digits and intended to ring her up ASAP.

Our courtship was fast and quick. She had recently graduated from Emory, had broken up with her boyfriend 6 months ago, and was living with a friend. We were dating 2 months when my lease on my APT in Midtown was up.

We agreed to live together, which was just fine by me. She was then unemployed and was cruising through her early 20's, while I seemed to have a plan in place.

We got an awesome apartment and happily lived together for 2 years. A band I was playing with ( an 'alternative' band called Otter )was getting some interest. It did not hurt that the drummer of this band worked in the music industry, and the lead was a well known ATL regular. So, I had it all: I was playing bass in a band on the edge, awesome girl, the works. We were scheduled to open for Soul Asylum in town, with the possibility of more opening gigs with them if they approved!

Then it all went south. I intended to ask my girl to marry at the gig. I then noticed her and the drummer pretty much hanging all over Soul Asylum. I chalked it up to 'sucking up for the band's good' and rationalized her behaviour. She declined my offer that night, to my utter dismay.