It is currently Tue Oct 21, 2014 10:41 pm

All times are UTC - 4 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: NFP: Learning from my mistakes as a talent evaluator
PostPosted: Wed Apr 06, 2011 5:35 pm 
Purveyor of Truth & Justice
Purveyor of Truth & Justice

Learning from my mistakes as a talent evaluator

My biggest misses and how each whiff has made me a better scout.
by Wes Bunting
April 06, 2011 Bookmark and Share Print This
20 Comments

One of the biggest fronts that is often put up by any talent evaluator at any level is the idea that since they are professionals, they’re never wrong — which couldn’t be further from the truth.

I have been evaluating college prospects for the NFL Draft since 2002 and since then I’ve made numerous mistakes in evaluating prospects’ talents to the next level. However, instead of trying to hide them away, hoping no one will ever find them again, I like to embrace them, learn from them and try not to ever make the mistake again. In my view it’s the only way I can personally get better.

Therefore, here is a look at some of my worst evaluations on NFL prospects since 2002, as well as what I took from each and how I apply it to my trade now.

JonesICONJones will always struggle to separate in the NFL.

WR Matt Jones: Arkansas (2005)
The Combine effect kicked my butt on this evaluation. Jones was a 6-6, 242-pound kid and could run a sub 4.4. What else was there to know? He made big plays as a quarterback with the ball in his hands at Arkansas and would do the same thing in the NFL, right? Not quite. Looking back on tape of Jones, the guy is the definition of a strider. The further down the field he was asked to run the faster he got. However, when watching him try to change directions and get out of his breaks he was consistently forced to gear down and there was simply no burst whatsoever to his game.